Break on through to the other side…

How do you spell breakthrough…PRAY.

Prayer is the bed rock, the foundation, to a life of holiness and intimacy with God, however it is most often the first thing that goes out the window in the life of a believer. Even culturally, upon a tragedy or a mass casualty event in our nation prayer vigils will pop up everywhere, but those devoted to intercession are certainly few and far between.

You show me a breakthrough believer and I’m sure that they are one that has a secret life with God in prayer. Any move of God is preceded by a people who pray. My guess as to why prayer is the first thing to go in the midst of ministry and the  busyness of life is because there is not a lot of instant gratification. Those that are disciples that long for and live for Jesus, rather than fans looks for a fleeting moment of pleasure, recognize that destiny is birthed in the womb of prayer. In Matthew 6 Jesus outlines prayer. I love that the opening line on the subject in verse five say “WHEN YOU PRAY”, it’s not a suggestion..it’s a command. Jesus says in verse six, “But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.” We don’t pray because He rewards us…there just are rewards… there is fruit of prayer.

Everyone wants an impartation and I’m all about impartation, if someone can give me something they have, making their ceiling my floor I’m the first in line asking for them to lay hands on me. However, history with God cannot be imparted. The results of travailing with Him cannot be given away.  When you plow in the Spirit, truly colaboring with Him in the place of prayer you know Him like few do.Only the humble will pray and press because they recognize their utter dependence and need for God.Pride is the antithesis of prayer, the two just do not mix. Jesus warns in Matthew 6 to not be like the hypocrites. I would be so bold as to say, don’t call yourself a Christian if you don’t pray certainly don’t call yourself a new testament Christian because all they did was birthed in prayer.

I get it…life is crazy busy, but I’m here as a PSA to let you know praying a few routine lines as you fall to sleep or drive in the car will not get you very far. I used to be in the camp that prayer is just talking to God and we do it all day…that’s relationship. When we dig wells in the spirit in the prayer closet we become power filled, effective Christians. We start to look like Christ as He is formed in us.  I will be honest, I was missing it for a long time…but when you know better, you do better. Now I know that I can’t live a life that is more than mediocre if my prayer life looks like every “normal Christian” I’ve known.

Today I encourage, urge, and challenge you to get in the place of prayer.  Force yourself, God will honor your obedience to His command to pray and your flesh will get used to not being instantly gratified. There are gains to be made, in the spirit and in the natural, you will make them in the place of prayer.

“I have joyfully dedicated my whole life to exemplifying how much may be accomplished by prayer and faith”- Mueller

 

Leave a Reply

